top of page

Recent Posts


Click on January 2019 to access earlier months


Related posts


  • Writer's pictureJim Bessman

Songwriters Hall of Fame announces 2017 inductees


2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees (Courtesy of Songwriters Hall of Fame)

The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) will induct Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, the songwriting team of Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, Max Martin, Shawn "Jay Z" Carter and the band Chicago's Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Peter Cetera at the organization's 48th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, to be held June 15 at New York's Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Additionally, 2016 nominee Berry Gordy will be inducted, with special award honorees to be announced soon.

"With our 2017 roster of inductees, the Songwriters Hall of Fame moves definitively into recognizing music creators of the 21st century while continuing to honor the greats of earlier decades, said SHOF co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff along with president Linda Moran.

"The songwriters we honor cross genres, regional and even national boundaries--R & B, rap, pop and rock 'n' roll from both coasts, the American heartland and Sweden. We are thrilled to once more have the opportunity to preside over an event that recognizes the convergence of song craft and musical performance at the very highest level. The combination of contemporary sounds and timeless hits of the past is certain to make for an unforgettable evening."

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates and enshrines music pioneers while reaching out to the music community in grooming the next generation artists.



bottom of page