top of page

Recent Posts


Click on January 2019 to access earlier months


Related posts


  • Writer's pictureJim Bessman

Songwriters Hall of Fame announces 2019 inductees

Clockwise from top left: Dallas Austin, Yusuf/Cat Stevens, John Prine, Jack Tempchin, Missy Elliott and Tom T. Hall

The Songwriters Hall of Fame [SHOF] has announced its 2019 inductees, to be formally ensconced into the hall at the organization’s 50th Annual Induction Awards Dinner on June 13 at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel.

The 2019 inductees are Dallas Austin, Missy Elliott, Tom T. Hall, John Prine, Jack Tempchin and Yusuf/Cat Stevens.

“The first thing you need to know is it’s about the song, the second thing you need to know is it’s about the song, the third thing you need to know is it’s about the song,” said new SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers in announcing the inductees.

“That’s true now more than ever, but it has always been about the song, so I'm very proud that in my first year as Chairman of the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame we are recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time. The 2019 slate of inductees represents diversity and unity across genres and gender, highlighting our dedicated mission to honor music creators who have enriched our lives. These are writers who in their time literally transformed music and helped make what’s happening today possible.“

This year’s special SHOF award honorees will be announced soon.

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create music around the world. To qualify for induction, a songwriter must be a published writer for a minimum of 20 years with a notable catalog of hit songs.



bottom of page